Relapse

Once a relapse happens there is no way to know where life is going to take you. The road is as bumpy and has so many turns as a back dirt road.. maybe even worse and thats exactly what happened here. My ex went back to NJ and I wanted to see the best in him. I didn’t think at first that he was getting high but once he was in NJ things got weird. He really started exhibiting relapse behaviors. He was calling me all day and night, being overly affectionate, and texting me storybook size messages about our life and how he wanted to marry me. Many girls would be happy for this behavior.. and yes I did appreciate the occasional flower delivers but this was not the boyfriend I knew. He was even sending rings to my sister to choose for me. I has been planning a trip up north to see him for a week and as soon as I spent a little time with him I knew the truth. He wasn’t intimate (probably due to the drugs he would be unable to get it up lol so he thought by not doing anything at all would distract me? nice try!) and he wouldn’t leave me alone with his sister or any of his family member (apparently too scared that we would discuss the real issue at hand). The thing is I loved this guy, with all my heart and soul and it killed me to see him in pain and slowly killing himself. He is better than all this, I thought, he knows what to do, he just needs to do it. Finally I spoke with his sister and his mother and we were able to sit down and confront him and get him to agree to go to detox. I thought this may be the end of the problem, that he just needed a fresh start, to regroup and throw himself back into the program but it wasn’t that simple.

When he got released from detox he agreed that after meeting with his probation officer he would stay with my mom up in PA. And he did just that. Little did we know he would continue using the whole time; getting deliveries from NJ and when he went back to meet his probation officer he would pick up. Things took a turn for worse when he finally had to go to court and he was high as a kite, thinking he wouldn’t have to be drug tested because he saw his probation officer the day before. With a hunch that things weren’t going to go smoothly I had his insurance ran at a rehab facility back down in florida so hopefully they wouldn’t send him to jail and give him a 2nd .. or 5th chance. Luckily that agreed to this as a plan for after he spent another 2 weeks behind bars, but at least there was a plan right?

Relapse

Leave a comment